Login
Ratjoy.com » Forums » Ratjoy.com General Discussion » Game Design Document (GDD)

Game Design Document (GDD)

Hajji Pajji
RJ: Trade Merchant
CO: VonDutch

Post Rating: 0
+ / -

Total Posts: 194
So I think it is time I admit defeat that I cannot commit the time necessary to build this game myself.

I will outsource the project to a game developer and manage it once it is complete.

In order to have the best "copy" of this game, I think I need a step-by-step Game Design Document (GDD) so an outsider can do this game justice.

Would anyone be interested in helping me create one?
Bruce Heitz
RJ: Berkeley Food & Farm
CO: Berkeley

+ / -

Total Posts: 162
Unfortunately I'm not a designer/coder. For the most part, I'd like to see the game mechanics stay the same. But some change to the stock market and company valuations need to be improved. I'd be willing to provide input and ideas to whoever take up the task of developing the game.
Hajji Pajji

+ / -

Awesome, thank you for your input.

So as far as my plan to attack this project, the mechanics will stay the same. I can say that the stock market is either not going to happen, or it will be a long time. I like the concept, but not sure if the effort to make it worth would be worth the gameplay.

I also started a FB page called "Lost Economy" a few years back to keep connected if this site ever was not an option, are you with us there?
Bruce Heitz
RJ: Berkeley Food & Farm
CO: Berkeley

+ / -

Total Posts: 162
I'm not there atm. Without a stock market there would have to be an alternative way to sell companies between players. I had to quit playing LE because without the stores running at all times it would have been hard to raise the cash to keep growing.

One other note: Don't allow the code to be open source or you will run the risk of someone sabotaging the game like what they did to the main server.
Hajji Pajji

+ / -

Good points
Jayson Drake Tan
RJ: Ben
CO: Ben

+ / -

Total Posts: 74