Login
Ratjoy.com » Forums » Off-Topic Discussion » What's your gaming background?

What's your gaming background?

Roald Adriaansen
RJ: Wuvil
CO: Wuvil

Post Rating: 0
+ / -

Total Posts: 146
I am interested in knowing what everyone's gaming background (and current for that matter) is (and not just because I'm a games student :P Although it is partly why).

I got into gaming rather late compared to most, not because I didn't want to, but because I didn't have access to, not until early 2000's did I get started, the most memorable ones being;
Empire Earth
Jack & Daxter series
Dark Cloud and Dark Chronicle
Gran Turismo 3 & 4

A few years later in highschool a friend showed me Morrowind (which also brought me into modding and is one of the reasons I have pursued game development as a career), Rome Total War and EverQuest - let's just say I didn't sleep much for the next few months and to this day I still play the first 2 mentioned.
Oblivion followed but it never had the same impact on me the way Morrowind had.

Around this time I also discovered EvE, (2006'ish?) and I saw a world where anything went, this took up the majority of my gaming for the next several years and as of today I still play as a solo "semi-insane" pvp'er, all funded through my market manipulations/projects.
Civilization IV modded multiplayer (Fall from heaven) I'm don't even want to know how much time have been spent playing..

As I progressed into university gaming habits changed a bit, I actually needed to study (well a little at least :P) to get good grades, and also for research I discovered many games which I may have otherwise overlooked.
Along with EvE I needed an MMO which required less time intensive periods, which got me into World of Tanks and a little bit of League of Legends.

Company of Heroes game we run every now and then with many from the university and as an RTS is favourite currently on the market.